OWD

it stands for OPEN WATER DIVE!!! whooooooo!!!!

I KNOW!!! Finally another tick from my bucket list (even though now Advanced Open Water Dive has been added to the list ;p) I am sooo so so grateful for this year, that I get to do so many interesting things that are not related with school… xp

IMG_2874So, after postponing it for ages, I decided to get myself into that underwater world :) I have always wanted to dive, but many things kept holding me back. Things like “no one to go with”, “it’s so scary”, “it looks so difficult and dangerous”, and all other kinds of what-ifs (you know what I mean!)

Things changed last year, when I was so lucky to meet this lady in her 60s, whom I admire so much! I met through CouchSurfing in Dresden! (yea, CouchSurfing!!!) She told me that she just did her OWD course in 2011! I was so ashamed seeing how she’s way more energetic and ‘younger’ than I am. She went rock climbing just a few years ago (!!!) and she climbed the tree in her garden to pick up the cherries (because she doesn’t have any ladder, she said) and she cycles to work everyday… Can you imagine now what kind of woman we are dealing with here? and you still dare to say that you’re young and lively and adventurous? think again!! ;)

So thanks to this woman! I finally had enough courage to sign up alone (at first my friends were supposed to go with me, but suddenly some things happened and they couldn’t go anymore)… and I didn’t regret any single thing (except that I am 550 dollar more broke now) but it is so worth it!

IMG_2893I went with NUS Dive Club and Blue Reef Scuba, to Pulau Dayang, Malaysia.

It started with 2 theory lessons and 1-day swimming pool exercise done in Singapore, and a weekend trip to Pulau Dayang (5 dives). Going there with complete strangers were fun too! I was so lucky to be going with an awesome bunch of people :) One of the funny things there was that most of us are still not so well-versed in all the names of the sea creatures… and, Finding Nemo came in handy here. The conversations often went like this: “So how was the dive? What did you see down there?” “It was great! Hmm, do you know that [character] in Finding Nemo? Yea, I so that!” and that also means, now I can’t really tell you either what are the things that I saw. I’ll try again next time :D hehe

Here are some of the pictures taken in Pulau Dayang (unfortunately I don’t have any underwater pictures).  Really lovely place, with basic accommodation and good food, and unforgettable experience!

IMG_2881

IMG_2873

The water around the island is crystal clear!!!

IMG_2903

581793_10152290679816393_789092033_n

IMG_2901

dive cert and finally I received my Open Water Diver cert :) so looking forward to the next diving trip!

What say you?

